Day 93: “I love the whooshing noise they make as they go by.”

How did I ever think a year was going to be long enough? Maybe “Don’t Panic” would be a more encouraging/optimistic title (in large friendly letters obv). Absolutely no work has been done on The Book over the festive season (and the Christmas tree has only just gone away so that means  its only just over).

Last night I eased myself back into the flow by throwing together a mood board over a glass of wine – yes it was as messy as it sounds. Also very satisfying, mood boards have to be the most childish way of looking professional: you get to use pritt stick, scissors and sellotape, you don’t have to be neat or colour inside the lines and you can steal other people’s art in the name of ‘inspiration’. Plus I had the fantastic idea of using melted candle wax to look like rain. I went very very over the top with it and also nearly gassed myself when the rubber melted off a paintbrush. Next time I shall consider removing wine from the equation. But if the Pre-Raphaelites did it…

Wol rain mood board edit

I also had a go at illustrating Wol in the style I want for the book. I ordered a sample of natural hessian fabric (I actually wanted to do all my illustrations on old potato sacks but apparently these are harder to get hold of..) earlier in the week to have a go on, thinking they would send enough to play with. The postage stamp they ACTUALLY sent wasn’t quite what I had in mind so had to scale-down my efforts but I’m still quite pleased.

wol in the rain collageWol in the rain

4 thoughts on “Day 93: “I love the whooshing noise they make as they go by.”

    • Haha thanks Jenny! No, I’m going to leave it as it is.. starting to see the funny side of it now and enough people have not been able to work out what the issue is so I don’t feel too worried! I’ll be careful not to replicate the effect in future though xx

  1. Hi,
    I stumbled across this blog by accident. I wasn’t looking for anything in particular, just wandering about the internet. I am by day an animation director for film and television and by night a published writer/illustrator/musician for children. I’ve been at it for nearly 20 years now.
    I too had this very dream you are blogging about trying to achieve…still do surprisingly!
    I just wanted to say that the embroidered artwork in your gallery is exquisite in it’s deceptively simple design and you have a fantastic style of your own. (I wish I had the skills to do that…)
    Just remember that it’s ALWAYS all about the story – then it’s all about being yourself…telling the story YOUR way. Get that right and the rest is easy. Trust me.
    Do this and you WILL make it.
    I’ll be cheering you on.
    Best of luck.

    R.

    • Hi there,
      Well thank you so much for your support, it is very much appreciated!
      There is a lot of pencil chewing over the storyboard going on at the moment..I’ll endeavour to keep your advice in mind!
      Do keep cheering 🙂
      Best wishes!
      ECR

Leave a Reply

